Affinity Forums : PIRC Facebook Affinity : PIRC Webpage :
PIRC YouTube Channel : PIRC Photo Gallery : Affinity Graphics

Author Topic: help please  (Read 74 times)

Chris B

help please
« on: August 13, 2017, 09:38:21 AM »
 :doh: Hi everyone, I am trying to create an acorn and I have three separate layers of different colors.When I select them all and click add, they all merge into one layer but I lose my layer colors and they all merge to one color. I hope this makes sense, can someone please tell me what I am doing wrong. I've added before and after shots.
Thanks
Chris

Marilyn

Re: help please
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2017, 10:21:47 AM »
Hi Chris,
I'm hesitating here because I'm new to this vector stuff, but I think this is one question I may be able to answer. :/
As I understand it, the 'Add' command changes everything to one colour because it is creating a total shape.
You can 'group' your layers instead, which basically keeps them together as one image but with its relative parts still editable by expanding the group.
I'm sure someone with more knowledge will jump in soon with a better answer, and I will learn something as well, but as you are the first person I feel I may be able to help, I'm giving it a go.  :laugh8:

Chris B

« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2017, 11:07:38 AM »
Thank you, thank you, thank you!! I was driving myself nuts lol. I've got to get PSP out of my head because this is a whole new ball game. Baby steps at first but I did get a basic Acorn made. I need to explore shadows next to give it some life. I won't tell you how long it took me to do this, let's just say I have a numb behind being sat so long. :laugh8: Now I have a hot date with an ironing board my laundry basket is overflowing lol. Thanks again
Chris.

Marilyn

« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2017, 11:17:43 AM »
No problem, Chris! Lovely little acorn you made.
You made me very happy that I was able to help someone else at last! Everyone has been helping 'me' so far!